Our network

Ga. Teacher of the Year to be announced Friday | People

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Ga. Teacher of the Year to be announced Friday
People, Schools
Ga. Teacher of the Year to be announced Friday

(WXIA) -- The 2015 Georgia Teacher of the Year will be announced Friday during a special luncheon.

Georgia State Superintendent Dr. John Barge will reveal the winner at around 2:45 p.m. at the Georgia International Convention Center in College Park.

The 10 finalists include:

Nick C. Crowder
Forsyth County Schools
Teaches engineering education at South Forsyth HS

Rhonda Lokey
Cobb County School District
Teaches 6th grade social studies at Campbell MS

Amanda Miliner
Houston County Schools
Teaches 4th grade at Miller ES

Paul D. Mixon
Heard County School District
Teaches journalism and economics at Heard County HS

Michelle Peace
Early County School District
Teaches Spanish at Early County HS

Marc Pedersen
Paulding County School District
Teaches biology, biotechnology and chemistry at Paulding County HS

Dr. Lyn Schenbeck
Coweta County School System
Teaches music courses at Central Educational Center

Rita L. Simmons
Atlanta Public Schools
Teaches K-5 gifted classes at Cleveland Avenue ES

Hyunjin Son
Gwinnett County Public Schools
Teaches physics and other science courses at Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science and Technology

Sarah Ballew Welch
Fannin County School District
Teaches English at Fannin County HS

People, Schools